Terrarium Style…

A little while ago I was very lucky…I actually WON something!! Go Me!!  I won a wonderful DIY Terrarium Kit from The Little Green Project!

Image

I was over the moon!  I knew I had to put it together without too much delay as there was live moss inside! 

Image

Image

So I enlisted the help of my 3 year old to put this baby together!  As the stones were already in the base, he added the layer of Charcoal (this is required to help keep the mould away)…

Image

Next we needed to rehydrate the dried moss…he loved pushing it all down into the water…the waiting for 5 minutes while it was soaking was the hard part.

Image

Finally he was able to get his hands dirty and place this moss as a barrier layer between the charcoal and the soil.

Image

Then, he carefully poured in the soil…

Image

and he got to poke it around making little hills.

Image

It was now time to tear up the live moss and place it into his terrarium.

Image

Image

 

The final layer…

Image

 

Now he could place the big rocks, the mini mushrooms and then all the little rocks into their new homes.  

Image

 

My son went a bit crazy with the little stones, I think there were more on the floor than in the jar!  

Image

 

…and voila!  The finished product!  How great does it look?

Image

Needless to say my son was very pleased with himself.  A great project we could do together and which he is proud to show anyone who visits.

Tomorrow (Oct 9), I will put a pic on the Macaroon Kids Facebook Page of how the Terrarium looks…a month on…go check it out xx

 

 

One thought on “Terrarium Style…

  1. Pingback: My first Terrarium Blog post | livingzenart

Leave a Reply

