Ombre Easter Eggs

Easter is just around the corner…there are chocolates and bunnies everywhere…so here is my final bit of easter inspiration…

ombre dyed egg

The ombre egg!  Now for these to work best you will need to get your egg hunting boots on and find some white eggs…I found this rather tricky and ended up finding mine at the Queen Victoria Market!  How relieved was I!

ombre dyed egg

I gently boiled the eggs and while hot put them into a small chinese cup … big enough to hold the egg upright.  Then after making up a concentration of the dye solution I poured a small amount of the dye into the cup and left the egg for 5 minutes.  I added a bit of water to the dye solution and left for another 5 minutes…repeat until you have 4 or 5 levels of colour…i.e. an ombre egg!

ombre-egg-3

HAPPY EASTER EVERYONE and I do hope you have enjoyed my little DIY take on Easter this year.

 

2 thoughts on “Ombre Easter Eggs

Leave a Reply

